Ambassador and Madame Taupo Attend the 2014 Taiwan Scholarship and Huayu Enrichment Scholarship Recipients Welcome Party /陶敏德大使伉儷參加「2014年台灣獎學金及華語文獎學金新生歡迎會」 / by Minute Taupo

On 20th October, 2014, Ambassador Minute Alapati Taupo and Madame Seleta Kapua Taupo attended the “2014 Taiwan Scholarship and Huayu Enrichment Scholarship Recipients Welcome Party” hosted by Taiwan’s Ministry of Education, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Ministry of Science and Technology, and the Taiwan Scholarship and Huayu Enrichment Scholarship Program Office.  This year’s MOFA Taiwan Scholarship recipients from Tuvalu are Taeia Penitusi Taeia, Ane Talia, Sama Sapakuka, Telupe Tepaukie, Walter Teiapa Teilauea, and Paul Aso Simeona Teasi.  Taeia, Sama, Telupe, Walter, and Paul are currently studying Mandarin at Fu Jen Catholic University in New Taipei City, and Ane is studying the same subject in Tainan’s National Cheng Kung University.  This year, the new MOFA Taiwan Scholarship students were accompanied at the event by second-year scholarship students Nefu Uniuni and Alamai Napoe, who are currently enrolled as freshmen at Ming Chuan University in Taipei.

The MOFA Taiwan Scholarship is generally offered to students from countries maintaining official diplomatic relations with Taiwan.  As part of the scholarship program, all scholarship recipients will enroll in one year of Mandarin training before applying to an undergraduate, Master’s, or PhD program.  Students are not restricted in their choice of program or university, and can apply to any of the higher level educational courses Taiwan has to offer.  During their term of study, all students will be provided with a set stipend from MOFA that they will use to pay for tuition, books, housing, food, and other essentials.  For detailed information on the MOFA Taiwan Scholarship and application regulations, see the MOFA website at

2014年10月20日,吐瓦魯國大使陶敏德與大使夫人陶思靈參加中華民國教育部、外交部、科技部,以及台灣獎學金及華語文獎學金計畫辦公室所舉辦之「2014年台灣獎學金及華語文獎學金新生歡迎會」。該歡迎會是為了今年新獲得台灣獎學金及華語文獎學金的學生而舉辦的慶祝活動。今年六名吐瓦魯學生獲得外交部提供之台灣獎學金--Taeia Penitusi Taeia、Paul Aso Simeona Teasi、Sama Sapakuka、Telupe Tepaukie、Walter Teiapa Teilauea以及Ane Talia。目前,前五名於輔仁大學、而Ane Talia於國立成功大學就讀華語課程。此外,兩名已在台灣居住一年且於銘傳大學就讀之吐瓦魯學生:Nefu Uniuni與Alamai Napoe,亦陪同新獲得台灣獎學金之學生參加「新生歡迎會」。